Movie Madness

My movie reviews and rants at your fingertips.

Breakdown: Movies That Make Me Cry

Yes, I have been known to cry at movies. It doesn’t happen often, but it does happen. Here are all the ones that made me tear up.

Sword in the Stone– I was young and the damn squirrels were so cute. When the female squirrel falls for the lead male squirrel and he transforms back into a boy, kicked the wind out of me. I cried myself to sleep that night.

United 93– I’ve seen this movie probably 4 or 5 times and everytime I ball like a baby afterward. The movie reenacts the United flight 93 that crashed the plane so the terrorists couldn’t use it as a weapon on September 11.

Mighty Joe Young– another Disney movie, this one a remake. For some reason, when Joe saves the boy from the ferris wheel and almost dies, I got choked up

Stop-Loss– Being in the military, this movie had me crying for half an hour after it was over. It was almost too hard to watch.

Elephant/Bowling for Columbine– both movies had me breathless when the shootings are shown. Elephant reenacted and dramatized the event, where Bowling for Columbine showed footage of the shooters walking around the school. Scared the shit our of me.

Of all the movies on this list, I only really recommend Elephant and United 93 Bowling for Columbine was great but a bit incomplete in its message. Stop-loss was the same story. Mighty Joe Young and Sword in the Stone, I haven’t seen since I was in elementary school, so I couldn’t tell you what I really think of those.

Leave a Reply

