Movie Madness

My movie reviews and rants at your fingertips.

Favorite or Best

The best thing and your favorite thing are not always the same. In fact, many times they are different. Since I started this blog a little over a year ago, I knew that I needed to differentiate. It isn’t always for me. For example, I loved The Mechanic (previous post) but the movie quality and execution was ok. A good critic can put aside their preferences to be objective, since few, if any, people do that, I try not to sweat it too much when I do.

Let me break it down more simply. The best movie I ever saw was Citizen Kane. At first I didn’t like it, but understood its significance. I have since come to love that movie and I often cite it as the best movie I ever saw. But despite this title, it is not one of my favorites. That isn’t a slight against it, I just have a small list of my favorite films (10 total, which I will write for the Off the Beaten Path section over the next months) but I do own Citizen Kane. And for me to own a movie is to appreciate and love it.

So from here on, I will try my best to differentiate between quality and preference. If the line ever becomes blurred, take my opinion at face value. But if you are reading this, you are already curious as to what I think, so there you go.

Leave a Reply

