Movie Madness

My movie reviews and rants at your fingertips.

Sorority Row

Another crap horror remake of a crap horror movie. Nothing original this time around. In fact, it’s almost more fun to see how many movies it references or mimics (incidentally or otherwise). Scream and I Know What You Did Last Summer are to blame for this film being made. Between the two of them, the plot is all there. Someone killed and covered up by friends, only to have someone reopen old wounds.

I went for two reasons. I truly thought this might be entertaining and the cast. I’m a fan of Rumer Willis, Margo Harshman, and Briana Evigan (I seem to be in the minority on that). The movie had a few gags and some gallows humor, but its more fun to laugh at than with. Those who watch horror movies for the gore and boobies, look elsewhere. Though there is a little of each, they are just another thing to draw more attention to the flawed plot.

I’ve seen this movie twice. I thought it would improve following a second viewing. It’s happened to me before with great films (Watchmen, Citizen Kane, Michael Clayton, to name a few), but this doesn’t qualify. It’s 2 stars out of 5, but a 2 star movie that you wanna buy anyway.

Leave a Reply

